“Caring” vs “Being Nice”

I have been thinking a lot about the concept of “caring” lately.  What does it mean to me?  What does it mean to others?  Who do I care about?  Who genuinely cares about me?  How do I show others that I care?  How do others show me that they care?

What I have concluded is that people confuse “caring” and “being nice”.  Just because someone is bubbly, friendly, or kind to you does not mean that they care about you.  That is placating or appeasing someone.  You can be kind to someone as they drink, eat, or drug themselves to death, but if you do nothing to help them, then (in my opinion) you don’t care about them.

Caring is difficult.  It involves having tough conversations with the people.  It involves honesty.  It involves vulnerability.  It requires your time and effort.

Unfortunately, I think the majority of people would rather have an acquaintance that was “nice” rather than a friend who “cares”.  Personally, I have no need for people who tell me what I want to hear.  I value friends that “care” for me and are willing to tell me what I NEED to hear.

-DM

CARING.

CARING.

 

Leave a Reply

